NAMF - North American NAMF Federation
HomeAbout NAMFRegister TodayCalendarTournamentsCommunityRules and ScoringFAQContact

Japanese Modern Mahjong Rules

Mahjong is a Chinese game of skill, which involves four players. Although the game play in general is similar in all of the versions of mahjong, the game pieces and scoring, however, slightly differ depending on the regional variations.

Almost similar to gin rummy, the object of mahjong is to build sets, as well as get the highest point value. In order to do this, each player selects and discards tiles (the game pieces, bearing different designs) until an entire set of combinations has been made.

So let's start the ball rolling (in this case, the dice), and begin playing mahjong.

The Mahjong set

The basic Mahjong set has 136 pieces, which contains 36 distinct kinds of pieces (4 of each kind). There are three suits, which run from one to nine.


1) Bamboos

Japanese Mahjong Game Rules - Bamboos
2) Characters
Japanese Mahjong Game Rules - Characters
3) Dots
Japanese Mahjong Game Rules - Dots
Furthermore, there are four directional tiles (Winds or Feng), labeled as East, South, West, and North (4 pieces each)
Japanese Mahjong Game Rules - East - South - West - North
There are also three Cardinal tiles (Dragons or Special Honor Pieces), labeled as Red Dragon (matches with Character suit), Green Dragon (matches with Bamboos suit), and White Dragon (matches with Dots suit). There are 4 pieces of each Dragon.
Japanese Mahjong Game Rules - Cardinal
Home | About NAMF | Register | Calendar | Tournaments | Community | Rules and Scoring | FAQ | Contact